In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

The school break period has opened an argument whether it should be conducted in long or short days. The extended vacation is generally viewed as a moment for the pupils to get a decent pause from the institute tasks. Meanwhile, the temporary break could become purposeful for the generations to train their responsibilities. However, the number of days itself should be revisited by weighing the benefits of longer and shorter vacations.

First, the prolonged break can help children rest, spend time with family, and try new skills. A refreshing moment is beneficial for them to get back stronger in their studies. Students will have the chance to go on vacation with families and friends, doing the trips they enjoyed the most. Moreover, an extended break could push them to find out the interests they haven't found at school. For example, we usually see a higher number of participants in cooking classes during this season. This actually help sharpens their skills and hobbies.

On the other side, shorter pause can help students remember school’s obligation and be mindful with their time. If the academy were to close for only a short time, students can return to school more easily with the whole learning memories. A prolonged break will impact pupils' awareness of their responsibility at school, their goals, and the subjects they have learned. Adversely, giving them only a temporary break will help them to keep up with their learning milestones. Then, it will lead to their mindfulness to utilise a quick break with a more decent quality of holidays, such as creating an intentional visit to their grandparents who needed their attention the most. Therefore, they will become aware of the pause period's intention.

All in all, the momentary break is outweighed by the extended options as it will train their responsibility and time management. Based on the thorough analysis above, I would recommend a quick period of summer holidays rather than conducting in months. As such, we are bringing back the nature of learning obligation that could breed the generations to grow responsibly.