Some believe that protecting the environment is the responsibility of individuals, while others think that governments and large companies should take the lead. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people think that caring for the environment is primarily an individual responsibility, while others argue that it is the large companies and corporations who should take action in environmental protection. Although we can all make a positive impact on the environment with daily habits, they are disproportionately smaller in comparison to what large-scale businesses and companies could do. This essay will explore both perspectives and explain why I support the second viewpoint.

On the one hand, the contribution that people can make for the sake of the environment cannot be disregarded, since people can organize themselves and generate real revolutions when there is a legitimate purpose. For example, many environmental initiatives bring together millions of individuals and have real and concrete effects, especially when there is also a commitment from the state to raise awareness. However, most of them, such as cleaning a river, encouraging public transport or collecting waste in the sand, aim to solve problems on a small scale, when they are very visible or reach a critical point.

On the other hand, multinational industries and companies cause immeasurable damage not only to local ecosystems, but also to the global environment as a whole. A study conducted by the United Nations showed an alarming result, climate change is irreversible, that is, there is no return to remedy it. The sacrifice of the environment at the hands of multiple industries has altered environmental processes through the overexploitation of natural resources. In this sense, it is logical to assign them the responsibility of stopping it, or at least, preventing it from getting worse. Since many companies are indifferent to this reality, it is up to governments to regulate the industrial sector by imposing measures and harsh sanctions to prevent them from continuing to operate under the same lack of control.

To conclude, individual actions to improve the environment will never be in vain, since it entails taking responsibility and being aware of a problem that affects us all equally. However, big industries and governments have an absolute obligation to take action on the issue, since the overexploitation of the environment ended up compromising the entire planet.