Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people argue that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others might argue that homework is important in education. I believe that children may have difficulty focusing and homework does not improve their learning.

First and foremost, homework can be exhausting for younger children and hard to focus due to watching short content, problems with parents and bad attitude may result in lower grades. When they face homework that requires focus and understanding previous knowledge, it feels unbearably slow, so they choose to rush it; short content has fast rewards. Parents can overwork their children with chores, which affects their focus. For example, a child may be working on homework when a parent suddenly orders them to do chores, and as a result the work is never finished. I personally agree that homework is not as important as cooperation and participation in classrooms.

However, some children feel shy to participate in classrooms with other children and do not feel comfortable. Homework gives shy children a chance to learn at their own pace, away from the classroom environment they find stressful. Homework can help them in the future, for example, college has a lot of essays and homework which develop over time with practice. Additionally, homework can improve their self-control because they have all the entertainment and they choose to do their homework. Even so, some children rush their homework with unfinished work or postpone it to another day.

In conclusion, while some people argue that children should have more homework to improve their self-control, I believe homework is not as important as participation in classrooms.