Life in many cities around the world is becoming so expensive that one day only rich people will be able to live there. What are the causes of this situation? What measures could be taken to solve the problem?

These days, living cost has rosen exponentially in most of the cities. It is believed that only elite class would be staying in these metropolitan areas in future. Their are many reasons that have contributed to this phenomenon. This essay will be focusing on the causes, and the measures that can be taken to curb this problem.

To begin with, common people in cities are finding it difficult to face the increase in living cost. Now, they have to pay more to survive and cover the basic expenses such as, utilities,rent and grocery. There are many factors that have contributed to this scenario, for example due to surge in population, housing demand has peaked. Their are more tenants as compared to availability of houses. Moving forward, the abundance of workforce for the existing jobs, has increased the unemployment. Therefore, folks have to look for alternative employment, and they do not earn much as compared to they have earned. For instance, if an engineer have to drive a taxi, it is obivious thay this job would not pay as the engineering designation would have payed. Hence, the folks who are rich can survive in this sort of environment.

In continuation, there are some remedies to improve the condition. The government should keep the basic infrastructure updated according to the situation and should also be prepared for the future. The most important part is played by housing. If the ratio of demand and availability of homes is kept in equilibrium, the cost of dwelling can be kept in check. The governing bodies should encourage more investment in employment sector. They should bring more industries, so that more people can get their desired job. The increase in factotries help both, citizens and the government. In case of the commoners, they can earn more and tackle increased expenditure, where as governing bodies can get more revenue and they can increase their spending to develop the basic infrastructure.

In conclusion, It is evident that rising living cost has made it harsh for people to stay in cities, but this trend can be reversed by implementing some changes.