The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to technological advancements, the use of social media has increased over the recent years. This has led to the replacement of personal interactions among many people in the community. This essay will discuss both merits and demerits of this sentiment. As a consequence of busy schedules and distinct work rosters, people are finding it difficult to be available at the same time as their loved ones. Hence, many people are prioritizing digital communication over face-to-face interactions. Moreover, a major part of the society is moving into remote regions of the city, which in turn, reduces their chances of having regular one-on-one meetings. Therfore, many organisations have shifted to virtual means of interviewing candidates for better convenience. To cite an example, KMPG has completely moved into using Microsoft Teams and Zoom to interview potential employees and widen their recruitment pool. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages. As the popularity of personal interactions are reducing, social anxiety and nervousness around a big crowd is increasing at a tremendous rate. The interpersonal skills are depleting and individuals are becoming more introverted. For example, a huge number of public speakers are from an older generation where social media was either not yet introduced or popular. Therefore, many folks are having a tough time adjusting around a group of people at a communal space. In the end, it is evident that social media is replacing face-to-face interactions at a significant pace. In my opinion, the advantages outweigh the drawbacks because it is allowing a huge percentage of population to have a better lifestyle and spend more time on personal growth.