Many people in cities live alone or in small family units instead of with extended family. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people are preferring to live alone or in smaller units than with their family. This is a positive development mainly because it allows them to spend their leisure time at their own terms and the housing cost is way less than a bigger house. First and foremost, individuals residing without any mates help to organise their free time better and at their own convenience. They are not answerable to anyone for the choices they make in regards to their living condition. Secondly, it allows people more time for pursuing hobbies with minimal distractions and explore their horizons. To cite an example, a person returning back home after a long day of work, can spend the rest of the evening doing the activites they like such as knitting or reading a book, instead of having other member of the family to look after for. Additionally, the cost of living in smaller units is quite low as compared to a big house. Folks living with an extended family will have to spend more resources on basic neccessities. To support this, the grocery staples for a one person household would be enough to last them nearly a month and hence, the bills would be less. This helps them to save a decent amount of money from their regular income source. As a result, a huge proportion of the society prefers residing alone without any sharing of common spaces. This helps them build and save for an emergency fund faster and allows individuals personal space to prioritise their hobbies.