In many places, large chain stores are taking over the marketplace, making it impossible for small businesses to compete with them. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

It is argued that an increasing presence of chain stores in many places is making small business struggle to the point of failure, since it is impossible fot them to compete. While I think that chain stores can make people's life easier, I believe small business are the backbone of every town's economy and identity, and therefore, they need to be preserved.

On the one hand, large chain stores are considered convinient by many people, since they allow individuals to shop for many different items in the same location, saving time and reducing transportation's costs. For instance, shopping in a town's centre can be time consuming, since little shops are often spread around, which forces people to spend more time travelling from one location to another.

Furthemore, chain stores are taking over the market because they are usually more affordable. It is well known that boutiques shops are generally more expensive than large shopping centres, which often offer fast-fashion alternatives and a wider range of options and prices. Therefore, in nowadays' economy, with a rising number of people who struggle financially, chain stores become the better option, because more compatible with people's purchasing power.

On the other hand, small business can be considered the backbone of every society, since they are the expression of a town's culture, history and traditions. If small shops were to disappear, the identity of a town would be lost, since many spaces would remain vacant, or would be turned (in larger cities) into toursitic attractions. Cultural cities like Florence, Rome or Venice, make a great example of places where authentic, original business have disappeared, resulting in the loss of artigianal knowledge and ancient traditions.

In conclusion, while I can see why chain stores can benefit people's convenience and financial stability, I strongly believe that small business should be preserved and protected, due their importance in keeping alive ancient knowledges and traditions.