Discuss the differences between the way of life in your country now and the way of life in the past

During the last decades, Chile has experienced important political, social and cultural changes, which, in turn, reflect the way we live today as a society. In this brief essay, I will outline the changes I consider most significant to contrast the lifestyle of today's Chilean society with that of twenty years ago.

First of all, and perhaps the most notable change, is the technological revolution of the early century, in which computers, mobile devices, and consoles transformed everything, from how we interact with one another, to the way we perceive time. Nowadays it is difficult to find children playing in the neighborhood or having moments of encounter as happened years ago, due to a lack of motivation and the immediate stimulation provided by electronic devices. A study by the psychology faculty of the Catholic university of Chile, revealed that children in general no longer show interest or initiative to make friends, a situation that worries parents and guardians.

Secondly, the new economic system and the expectations of parents are also two factors that have undoubtedly had an impact on Chilean youth. Due to the standards and demands of today’s market, it is impossible for many young people to fulfill the traditional expectations that their parents pursued. Therefore, many young people with or without the support of their parents, decide to devote themselves to other things that make more sense for them, reneging on the old guidelines of exitism. This new trend, which is already a reality, is reflected in other spheres of society, such as the world of work, where several companies understand that the new times demand greater flexibility, giving rise to remote work and another business culture.

In conclusion, technology has revolutionized the way we relate to and interact with one another, a shift that, in contrast to the past, stands out to me as the most evident change. On the other hand, the expectations of young people, combined with a greater demand for goods, have resulted in a new lifestyle among the youth, in which their motivations and aspirations differ completely from those of their parents.