In today’s world, people spend a lot of money on appearance because they want to look younger. Why does this happen? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In contemporary society, people pay more attention to their appearance and would spend a big amount of money in an attempt to look younger. This essay will examine the reasons behind and I personally believe that this is a negative trend.

A major reason of this development may lie in the influence of social media and advertisements. This is because businessmen invest heavily on influencers, variuous social media, and all kinds of advertisements to capture public's attention to promote their services and products for further financial benefits. As a result, it has become a fashion to persue this trend that appearance matters. For example, the bombardment of information related to skin care and beauty triggered a great of popularity of certain product and services which are perceived to be useful in beautify people. Another compelling reason may come from peer pressure. As for an individual, if the people around tend to purchase related services and products, it will encourage in a subtle way this guy to follow the same behavior.

Admittedly, this trend, brings a sense of fulfillment for several groups. In the process of seeking for younger appearance, it diminishs people's concerns towards their outfit and may become more confident about themselves. On the other hand, it may raise a great concern in a larger scale. Especially for young people and children, who are thought as have not fully developed their judgement and persistence, may be influenced the most by certain advertisements. As certain groups, what they need to really focus are their academic performence, interpersonal relationships, and physical development rather than superficial items such as appearance. Furthermore, it will definately add up to the financial burden of people, especially for those facing financial hardship and who come from humble background.

In conclusion, the reason why people would like to spend a lot of money to seek for younger appearance may be highly relavent to the influence of social media, advertisements, and peer pressure. It does generate benefits for a group of people in gaining confidence and alleviating anxiety towards looking. However, it will impose more concerns and pressure on certain groups and the whole society. On banlance, I regard it as a negative trend.