Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives. What extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that modern, diverse means of sending or receiving information such as electronic mail and messaging tools have negatively impacted the way we communicate and socialize with others. Personally, I believe that there are more benefits of these inventions, which will be discussed here. Firstly, in today’s technology focused world, communicators can save a great deal of time in the process of transmitting messages or texts. Thanks to the achievements gained in telecommunication industry, people now are able to connect with others in many parts of our planet in no time at all. Taking residents living in remote areas, such as deserts or mountains, as an example, without the help of such modern methods of communication, those people would be incrementally isolated or feel increasingly cut off from the rest of the world, which could lead to rigorous situations of tediousness and loneliness. Secondly, from the business’ perspective, email and other messaging applications are often regarded as effective and powerful tools in the expansion of promising clients. Simply by a click of sending button, a company can reach to thousands of people who might show interest or be seeking for products or services which they are providing. For instance, ads about a grandly new guitar, which can produce a wide range of sounds, are always attractive to musical schools or musicians. Consequently, this is a win-win situation for both vendors and consumers in terms of cost effectiveness and ease. Even though It is true that there are some negatives to these tools of communication, most notably a reduction in the amount of time spent for family members and socialization in many cases. However, it seems that for many of us, such drawbacks are outweighed by merits which can make our day-to-day lives much easier. In conclusion, the benefits of time-saving, connecting people and reaching potential customers combine together to make modern forms of communication and sharing information play a crucial part in the present life, especially when compared to the old days.