Some people believe that it is essential to include Physical Education classes in the curriculum for all school-age children. Others think that children's time is better spent on more academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are different opinions about education all around the world. This can be explained by differences in traditions, culture and country needs. Indeed, many people claim that the balance between academic classes and physical education can never be the same. Nowadays, obesity is on the rise and studies affirm that children are up to 40 per cent a proportion in relation to a whole (which is usually the amount per hundred) percent less active than they were twenty years ago. Lack of safe places for children to play outside and too much time spent playing video games or on mobile phones are often blamed for this. Therefore, there is a greater need than ever before for children to spend time at school doing physical education. Furthermore, several studies attest to the fact that doing physical exercise actually improves academic performance. Whereas, for children who are less academically-minded, there should be a chance to explore other types of vocation not linked directly to academia. On the other hand, there is still an enormous need for more labours in the sectors of STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) and with the growing world population, society is becoming more competitive as a whole; hence the need for good grades and entrance into higher education to find a highly paid job. Others simply argue that it is up to parents to make sure their children have enough exercise, not educational bodies. To sum up, it is undeniable that studying core subjects such as mathematics, foreign languages and science, for example, is essential for children to function in today's society. However, we need to give our kids the chance to decide by themselves what they want to do. We can't make them become scientists or sportspeople if they don't want to, but we can help them to moderate their time to stay healthy and still be well-educated. I personally believe a balance must be struck in the curriculum and physical education must have a place in children's school life.