Some countries spend a lot of money to make bicycle usage easier. Why is this? Is this the best solution for traffic congestion?

Nowadays, the government of some capital cities in the world initiates the cycling to work movement. To support this program, some nations allocate their spending on building up the cycling facilities so that citizens can go cycling conveniently. It is believed that making cycling a lifestyle is the best course of action to solve the traffic jam problem. This essay will explain why this thought is true and give other reasons related to it. Some capitals in Europe continents, namely Amsterdam and London, focus on building the cycling track infrastructure to encourage citizens do cycling conveniently instead of driving to anywhere. The more people choosing this way, the less cars on the road. Besides solving the traffic deadlock problem, this method also reduces the air pollution and also increases people’s life expectancy. The government can spend less on providing health insurances for the citizens, which is a good sign. Another way is increasing the car owning tax and the petrol price. However, this idea will not work unless the city has already built the proper facilities for people to use an alternative transport, for instance building the public transport and cycling track facilities. However, investing in building the public transport costs more than cycling track. This makes it the most effective way so far. In conclusion, there are several ways for the council to solve the traffic deadlock problem especially in big cities. However, I am certain that building the cycling infrastructure is an initial course of action for citizens to be able to use bicycles as an alternative vehicle.