Some people think that all university students should study whatever course they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

The confusion about the course to study at the tertiary institution still remains one puzzle yet to be unraveled. While some sets of people think that undergraduates should be allowed to study the course of their choice others are opined that they should do subjects related to science and technology. In my opinion, I believe that learners should be allowed to take the path of knowledge they desire in school. This essay will discuss both views and give a reasoned conclusion. On one hand, the best part of university learning is the ability to select your subject as this prevents the learner from losing interest in school. When a 3rd level education student voluntarily selects a discipline of their choice not only will they be focused, but they will also do the subject passionately. During a survey at the Northwest University in 2017, it was reported that 10 students out of the 50 students offered admission in the history department dropped out because they were not interested in the field but had been forced to take the course as a result of their parent's influence. Therefore, in order to prevent this occurrence, it is necessary to encourage learners to practise what they love. On the other hand, studying useful subjects in the university helps to develop the student's future career prospect. Doing lucrative coursework will increase the undergraduate's chance of getting green collar jobs after graduation. For example, it has been reported that the highest earning sector in Nigeria as at 2019 is the scientific and technical field for this reason it is essential that students do more technical courses. Although, in my opinion, I believe allowing a learner study the field of their choice is highly important as this will prevent them from being inactive members of the school society. To sum up, although studying courses like science and technology is more beneficial to the student in the future, the undergraduate's happiness supersedes this. It is highly recommended that the government provides job awareness programmes for the students prior admission, in order, for them to familiarize with the different job opportunities attached to the various courses.