Nowadays, there are more workers working from home and more students studying from home, due to the fact that that computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive or negative trend?

One of the fastest growing areas of modern civilization is computerized technology and this is having extraordinary impacts on both work and school. Many individuals are working and studying from their residences due to the convenience and cost saving aspects of this trend. I opine that this phenomenon is simultaneously both beneficial and detrimental. Those that engage their professional and scholastic responsibilities from home enjoy several benefits. To begin, it saves people time and is more convenient than having to commute to school or work. People do not have to expend both time and energy commuting from their residence to their job or scholastic institution and in my experience this could save me several hours each day which I could devote to other activities. In addition, people will incur significant cost savings owing to the fact that they will not have to pay for transportation costs to and from their work or school. Furthermore, dining out is always more expensive and savings will be attained on this front as well. I personally spend a hefty portion of my income on both transportation and eating out during my working day. However, working and studying from home may have some detrimental impacts as well. First, this may lesson face-to-face contact and socially isolate people. For instance, people already see each other less due to modern communication technologies and this will only exacerbate this growing trend. Secondly, the quality of work and studies are not always as sound as working or studying in person. When people are together in person they are usually more accountable for their work or studies as well as more sensitive to each others needs and this often allows for a higher quality time working or learning. All in all, performing professional and scholastic duties from home includes benefits such as time and cost savings as well as convenience. In contrast, it also brings detriments such as less physical and faceto-face face-to-face contact which may affect the quality of works produced. I ultimately feel the benefits outweigh the drawbacks and if people can find ways to lesson the disadvantages, then optimum outputs can be experienced from this trend