As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of the individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers

There is no doubt that the majority of the people spend a huge part of their adult life working, and that work satisfaction is an essential feature of the well being. In my essay, I will discuss some of the factors that influence job satisfaction and also look at how realistic the expectation of satisfaction for all employees. One of the major factors that lead to work satisfaction is higher wages. This is because people will feel satisfied when they know that they are earning a salary that is equivalent to the type of work they are doing, most especially when the job is very demanding. For example, doctors, who work day and night and receiving higher wages may generally feel contented with their duties. However, if the pay of these doctors is much lower, then there could be no job satisfaction. As a result, this will in turn affect work performance. Furthermore, another factor that leads to a fulfilling job is the working environment. The reason for this is because a suitable atmosphere will make employees performs their duties more efficiently. For instance, the result of a survey carried out by the Federal Ministry of Labour and Productivity in Nigeria (2012) show that workers reported an increase in work satisfaction when working in suitable conditions compared to those who reported a decrease in job fulfilment due to unhealthy working environment. Most workers often have very high expectations with regard to their jobs they think is satisfying. As a consequence when these expectations are not met, they begin to feel disappointed in most cases. To illustrate this point, a staff, who feels he or she deserved to be promoted after three years of working, but end up not getting the promotion may feel disappointed even though he or she earned the position. In contrast, if he or she gets the promotion, hence he or she may feel satisfied. In conclusion, higher pay and working surroundings are key elements that determines whether or not an individual will be satisfied with his or her job, and that even though the expectation are often high, they are not often realized on the job while working.