In recent times, young adults are spending less time with their families and more time with their friends. Why has this change occurred? Do you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

In recent years, young people tend to have more time for their friends while they spend less time with their families. Teenagers usually choose to be with their peers because they find them more available and understanding when compared to their family. I believe parents shouldn’t force their children instead they should find activities to gain their child ’s attention. Overwhelming struggles of business world usually gets in the way of parents and their children. When both parents have to work for financial needs, children look outside to find the attention they need. Because on a daily basis, working parents aren’t available and even when they are at home, they are either tired of the work or there is always housework to do. For example, both of my parents were working and my mother would do house work when she gets back while my father would watch television complaining about his day, I had no choice but looking for friends to spend time and talk because they weren’t paying enough attention. Moreover, most parents forget they were a child once and they usually overreact to their children’s actions or decisions. They are either over-protective about their child or think that they can’t do engage in make mistakes which overwhelms their child. Such behaviours lead the child to prefer to be with his/her friends and discuss their problem instead of their parents. In conclusion, even if parents are working, they should spare a proper amount of time for their children to have a quality family time. Also, they should be aware of their reactions might frighten their children and damage their relationship.