Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is a positive or negative development?

In recent years there has been a significant shift in the human resource field, specifically in recruitment. More and more focus is being placed in a candidate educational achievements rather than personal experiences. There are several arguments for this change of tactics which can be considered unfavourable in some cases. It is undeniable that educational achievements are the most important proof of personal accomplishment, if not the only one, that a recent graduate can put on his resume to impress recruiters. Educational achievements often come in forms of diplomas, certificates, awards or other types of documents with stamps of authenticity from authorised institutions. Based on this accredited system, recruiter can easily evaluate the ability of a candidate and select the suitable one for the job. Candidates with high educational achievements are also often associated with personal qualities such as hard working, ability to learn fast and willingness to learn new things, etc. These are some of the most important traits that will enable a person to excel in any position. Therefore, it is not by coincident that recruiters place a high weight on a candidate's academic qualifications in the evaluation process. Although it is a logical evaluating tactic, this is perhaps not the most reasonable one in terms of selecting the most potential candidate. Nowadays, it is required a lot more than a good university transcript with excellent grades to excel at work. Soft skills such as team work, ability to adapt to changes, reliability or ability to multitask are in high demand, especially for manager positions. Unfortunately these skills are often either overlooked or poorly incorporated in the current grading system at most schools. They are, however, can be easily seen through a candidate personal life experiences such as volunteer activities, part-time work or personal hobbies. It is therefore a crucial mistake for any recruiter to ignore these parts of a candidate's profile and focus solely on his educational background as the main criteria, for the above mentioned soft skills are as important as any other professional skills for anyone to excel at their appointed position. In conclusion, it is understandable that recruiters can rely on educational accomplishments as the main criteria in the selection process. However, this can not be considered as as positive trend as soft skills that are documented through personal experiences should also be taken into consideration in this process.