As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of the individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers

There is no doubt that the majority of the people spend a huge part of their adult life working, and that work contentment is an important component of happiness. This essay will discuss firstly, some factors that influence career fulfilment and secondly, analyse the expectation of satisfaction for all employees. One of the major factors that lead to work satisfaction is higher wages. This is because people will feel satisfied when they know that they are earning a salary that is equivalent to the type of task they are doing, most especially when the task is very demanding. For example, doctors, who work day and night and receiving higher wages may generally feel contented with their duties. However, if the pay of these doctors is much lower, then there could be no satisfaction. As a result, this will in turn affect their performance. Furthermore, another factor that leads to a fulfilling task is the working environment. The reason for this is because a suitable atmosphere will make employees performs their duties more efficiently. For instance, the result of a survey carried out by the Federal Ministry of Labour and Productivity in Nigeria (2012) show that workers reported an increase in output when working in suitable conditions compared to those who reported a decrease in fulfilment due to unhealthy working environment. However, expectation of achievement for all employees is not feasible. This is because most workers often expect very high returns with regards to their jobs they think is satisfying. As a consequence when these expectations are not met, they begin to feel disappointed in most cases. To illustrate my point, a staff who feels he or she deserved to be promoted after three years of working, but end up not getting the promotion may feel disappointed even though he or she earned the position. In contrast, if he or she gets the promotion, hence he or she may feel satisfied. In conclusion, higher pay and working surroundings are key elements that determines whether or not an individual will be satisfied with his or her role, and that even though expectations are often high, they are not often realized while working.