Some people think that criminals should be given longer terms in prison, so as to reduce the crime rate. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

How to handle criminals is a problem that all countries and society face. However, whether government should punish crimes by placing them in jail for a long time to pay for what they have done or not is a controversial issue. I am of the opinion that trying to make them better with training and education may be a suitable approach than we lock them in prison. There are several significant benefits associated with criminal education. First of all, it is obvious that many people have a tendency to end up their lifetime in the prison because they did not have a good education and a happy family. If crimes are taught a job-related knowledge which will enable them to become skilled employees in the future, most of them, after liberty, can enter the workplace, earn a living and support their families. Therefore, the return crime rate will reduce. Moreover, consider all the money that the government spent to lock people up in jail. It does not seem like a good use of the budget because most criminals eventually will let out of the prison, we should give top priority to make them better citizens and spend that money on welfare system such as a hospital or educational establishment. This is not to say, however, that we should neglect the positive impact of a jail. There are, of course, some people commit serious crimes like mass murder or violate other people need to be given in the prison during the rest of their life. But still, education has a crucial role in making criminals become useful for society. In conclusion, the major function of the prisons should be providing most crimes with disciplines that relate to their future life. Meanwhile, we should not ignore the important roles criminals are undertaking. Only by doing so, we can ensure that they will have a good life after having freedom.