In major cities around the world, traffic congestion has become a serious problem. How can this problem be tackled? Give reasons and examples from your own experience

Number of vehicles are increasing rapidly around the world. Vehicle congestion is becoming a serious concern for major cities around the world. But is there a way this issue can be handled? This essay will discuss the different reasons for gridlock and possible solutions for the same. This blockage can be mainly attributed to two main reasons. Firstly, the increasing number of vehicles on highway has resulted in an unprecedented increase in traffic. For example, in the city of Mumbai alone, the density of vehicles is doubling each year. Secondly, it has raised due to lack of proper infrastructure. Since with the rising number of vehicles, the roads have not been expanded, the gridlock has elevated. For instance, no new highways were made and the quantity of two wheelers has doubled in the city of Mumbai in a year. So the primary reasons for this blockage are more vehicles and lack of more highways. There are two main solutions that can be implemented in order to resolve the motorway jam. Primarily, by improving the roads, the traffic can be drastically reduced. By having good highways, the vehicles can be diverted more efficiently and effectively. To illustrate, a major chunk of motors can be handled by using fly overs. Secondarily, the use of public transport can be beneficial. By using public commute modes, number of vehicles used is reduced which results in less motors on the road. For example, a metro train can accommodate nearly 200 individuals, which effectively means 200 less vehicles on the road. Thus, this gridlock can be tackled by improving roads and by using public transport. Traffic blockage is a major problem across many cities around the world. This essay discussed why increasing population and poor road infrastructure are the major contributors of traffic congestion. This essay also discussed how this congestion can be tackled by improving roads and use of public transport.