Nowadays, young people communicate with friends and family mostly through social networking sites, rather than other ways of communication like talking on the phone or face to face. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the past few years social media websites and apps such as Facebook and Twitter have become hugely popular with the youth. While using these sites has many benefits such as being efficient and enjoyable, they also have a few drawbacks which overall makes this development a bad one. Using apps like Facebook and Twitter are a convenient and fun way to talk with friends and family members. Instead of phoning someone and hoping they aren’t busy, sending messages through these apps can be a better option as the person can receive the notification when they are free and respond in a timely manner. Also, most people are very busy these days so often can’t answer their phone or meet friends for a coffee or face to face chat. By using Twitter and similar sites, we can still keep in touch with our friends often even if they are far away. These sites are often enjoyable to use as well. In addition to chatting, we can send pictures, videos and funny messages to our friend, which strengthen friendship bonds and thus lead to better relationships. However, there are negative aspects of using social sites as the main way to communicate and I believe these far outweigh the benefits mentioned above. First, if we only chat using these sites we can lose our ability to interact well with others face to face. This can cause people to feel depressed, lonely and have mental issues as human are inherently social creatures who need more interaction than social media sites provide. Furthermore, the type of interaction is not intimate. When we meet face -to- face, we can really feel the emotions of others and can connect strongly resulting in far stronger relationships. However, via social media the interaction is far colder and can result in artificial relationships. For instance, many people have 500 plus Facebook friends but they don’t actually know these people well or ever meet them for a coffee or meal. Thus, these types of friends and interactions are not sufficient and surely not a adequate replacement for face to face meetings. To close, while there are some benefits of social sites such as being convenient and fun to use, we should not ignore the drawback discussed above. I recommend that people make sure to communicate with their loved ones via the phone and in person not only via social media sites like Facebook.