Eating too much sugar is harmful for our health. Some people think that it is government responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption, while others think that it is an individual’s responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Consuming excessive amount of sugar is detrimental to our health. Owing to this, arguments have arisen as to whose duty it is to regulate the level of sugar consumption, while some people believe that the obligation lies with the government, others believe that individuals are responsible for this. However, in my opinion, I believe humans play a major role. On the one hand, some people believe that the negative effect of excessive sugar intake impacts more on individuals and as such, they should be solely responsible for the sugar control and I agree. High sugar intake is often implicated in several diseases with the majority of the cases involving long-term or life long treatments. For this reason, people spend a great deal of money on a long term basis and may eventually get their social and mental well-being affected negatively. For instance, a recently published study by the Mayo clinic revealed that seventy-five percent of people suffering from depression have background sugar -related illnesses. To avoid this menace, people with this school of thought believe that individuals should solely reduce their sugar intake. On the other hand, other people are of the opinion that the government's ability to make effective policies makes them the best party to limit too much sugar intake. It is their view that the government can highly tax junk food like ice cream and burgers, which contain high levels of refined sugar. This would ultimately increase the cost of fast food and discourage people from patronizing them. Also, the government can organise awareness programs and regular advertisements highlighting the hazardous effect of excessive sugar consumption. This would go a long way in encouraging food industries to cut down on their sugar production. In conclusion, although the government is responsible for the lives of his citizens and hence should create awareness to regulate sugar intake, I believe that it is the sole responsibility of a person to control sugary substance intake because nobody knows the body of a person better than the individual himself.