The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In Britain, the adoption of cars has increased greatly over the century and it is estimated that by the year 2000, there will be as many as 29 million cars on the British roads. This essay will discuss why alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws will help control car ownership and use. Cars are one of the most convenient modes of transportation, which could help explain their dramatic increase in adoption and popularity. However, they are less efficient in terms of fuel consumption compared to other means of transportation. For example, a bus that can transport 20 people will consume less fuel than the equivalent amount of cars required to transport that many people. Since they are one of the most widely used forms of transportation, collectively they harm the environment in the form of air and noise pollution. They privatize the advantages and socialize the disadvantages. Hence, other forms of transportation like cycles, buses, and trains should be encouraged by the government.