Films and games can be accessed at any time from mobile devices, like smartphones, tablets and laptop computers. Do the advantages of such developments outweigh the disadvantages?

Digital tools have changed the way people live over recent years. Today, movies and video games have become accessible at the time when people want thanks to digital-mobile devices such as tablets, laptops and mobile phones. While the opportunity to access films and games has mental benefits in the users, it will also lead to digital addiction and to decrease the quality of interaction. There are a few advantages that people are able to access movies and digital games. The first is that people can acquire the mental benefits of both watching films and playing games. For example, both activities can improve brain activity, and people develop their problem-solving skills by playing games while commuting from the home to the work on the local transport. Thus, the accessibility of online movies and games can be advantageous for people to some extent. Despite the benefits, there a number of drawbacks associated with the accessibility of films and games. The main problem is that the opportunity to be accessed movies, TV programs and online games on smartphones, tablets, and laptops at any time and at anywhere results in digital addiction. Today, many people suffer from digital addiction, according to many psychologists. In addition, this trend weakens the quality of social interaction. For example, the people of today prefer to watch films or play video games over making new friends or interacting with each other at any place. Therefore, the accessibility of online watching and playing games will be extremely disadvantageous. In conclusion, pastime activities like watching a movie and playing a video game are accessible without the importance of time and place because of smart devices. People will have a few benefits like improving mental health from these online pastime activities at any time, whereas this practice comes with a number of disadvantages such as digital addiction, and the reduction of social interaction, and weakening social bonds.