Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, all age groups share personal data on social media each day without being aware of the potential harms. This essay will elaborate the advantages and disadvantages of the increased use of social media. In my opinion, the cons outweigh the pros and therefore use of social media should either be limited or replaced by a secure medium. On the one hand, social media helps people to connect all over the world, since it offers a very convenient way to stay in touch with your friends from abroad. For example, sharing moments via Instagram stories is really handy and people use it more frequently. Therefore, it is understandable that the popularity of social media is rising. On the other hand, sharing more personal data makes people more exposed to the risks of data or identity theft. For instance, algorithms of Facebook used personal data from its users to control the Trump election. For this reason, sharing data is not only dangerous for the individual, but also poses risks at our democracy, our whole state. Furthermore, another crucial risk of social media is that the design of data protection laws is currently not effective to protect the individual if his or her data is stolen or hacked. In other words, sharing sensitive data without having a safe, legal harbour surrounding you, can end up in a tragic loss for an individual or a whole company. In conclusion, there are some plausible points for both the pros and cons of social media. In terms of data security and lack of data legislation, I believe that the risks of social media clearly outweigh the benefits and hence should be limited.