Write an essay of about 250 words to express your opinion on the following topic. Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a generally accepted fact that we cannot define the future, and no one knows what it holds for us. But, we can always control the present to make way for a better tomorrow. For which we need to know our past and learn from it, be it the mistakes or the triumphs. This essay delves into the matters of this very topic. I personally am of the opinion that our past plays a very important role in shaping our future. Each person lives through various experiences in life which like job experience, we call as life experience. Similar to how you level up while playing a game by unlocking different level, each of us is levelling up as we pass through our lives. For example, recently a couple of my friends went on a holiday and had invited me to join them. Even though, I was excited and wanted to go, I decided against it. Previously I had been wayward with my spendings which landed me in a good deal of debt which I am still paying off. Hence the past experience of mine helps me to think twice before I take any impulse decisions at least in financial matters. But, in some cases the theory of learning from the past might not hold true. It is very relevant in the case of running a business establishment.