Food travels thousands of miles from farms to cosumers. Some people believe we should buy food from local farmer to protect the environment and support local businesses. Do the advatages of this outweigh the disadvatages ?

In discussing whether food should be imported, and what are the consequences to the local food market and the environment, one should bear in mind the complexity of the issue. Although some believe importing food is good, because it opens the local market and reduces food price, others think there are many disadvatages the quality of having an inferior or less favorable position disadvantages. In my opinion, importing food poses many disadvatages the quality of having an inferior or less favorable position disadvantages, and should be discouraged. In this essay, I will provide reasons and examples to support my argument. One argument in favor promote over another favour of my position is that production of food should remain local, in order to protect our environment and avoid access use of electricity and fuel. For example, bief any cognitive content held as true belief bag is brought to Israel from the United States via special ships in a journey that lasts 3 months. The amount of electricity and fuel required is sufficient to maintain a local farm for more than 6 months. This example shows that bringing food from distant countries affect our environment and local businesses and should be discontinued. Another point supporting my opinion is that local farms and industries are affected severely by importing food. For instance, 5 years ago the Israeli government decided to open the local fish market to international companies. This decision led to a dramatic decrease in fish prices and, as a result more than 20% of the local fish farms closed down. This example demonstrates that local markets are negatively affected by importing food and should be protected. In conclusion, I maintain that the disadvantages of importing food overweigh the advatages the quality of having a superior or more favorable position advantages and should be prevented. We should protect our environment and local industry at any cost.