Climate change is a big environmental problem that has become critical in last couple of decades. Some people claim that humans should stop burning fossil fuels and use only alternative energy resources, such as wind and solar power. Others say that oil, gas and coal are essential for many industries, and not using them will lead to economic collapse. What is your opinion? Support your point of view with relevant examples.

Fossil fuel has a significant role in the economy and the geopolitics of our world today. Therefore, many argue that modern societies cannot abandon coal, petrol and gas as energy sources. Nevertheless, I believe that fossil fuel should no longer be utilised as a source of power due to its damaging effect on the environment and the climate. Recent scientific research has proved the connection between the current climate crisis and the excessive utilisation of fossil fuel. Burning of fossil fuel to generate power releases carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases into the atmosphere. Which in turn trap heat and increase the temperature on our planet, causing global warming and climate change. For instance, in recent years, summer has become hotter than they used to be. In fact, the temperature in Europe reached an unprecedented level last summer. Moreover, extreme weather has become more frequent than ever before, with rainfall causing flooding and hurricanes in many regions in the world. For example, a recent flood in India killed more than 100 people and destroyed hundreds of homes. Today, there is no doubt about the association between the burning of fossil fuel and climate crisis. Accordingly, mining and drilling of fossil fuel should stop and more sustainable sources of power should be adopted. On the other hand, the argument that ending oil and gas utilisation would collapse the oil industry and harm the economy is not really accurate. Moving to clean and renewable energy such as solar and wind energy will create a new industry and encourage the development of new technologies. Adaptation of sustainable energy shouldn’t be sudden, but gradual to allow for the development of new industries. This can be proved already by many countries that have succeeded in eliminating a large percentage of fossil fuel usage and implemented renewable technologies. For instance, Germany generates 60% of its electricity from solar power. Similarly, Scotland uses wind turbines to provide electricity to most of its residents. Adopting sustainable energy will enhance the economy rather than destroy it. To conclude, I truly believe that the world should move away from fossil fuel, due to its harmful effect on the environment and its detrimental impact on the climate.