Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information is relevant and useful while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, companies often enquire candidates seeking employment about their traits and personal information including their marital status. Some believe that these details are necessary while others are of the opinion that it is irrelevant. This essay will discuss both the aspects and my opinion as well. To begin with, it has been cited that many employers dwell into the practise of acquiring personal details from interviewee so as to gain knowledge on their likes and dislikes, and their relationship status. Firstly, this data assists them understanding their employees and their requirements in an effective way. Consequently, they plan their office shifts in such a manner that they do not offer night shifts to the married staff. Secondly, organisations can build a better work environment if they are aware of their employee's area of interest. To illustrate, people dwelling in Kolkata are fervent football supporters and thus, most companies over there have football grounds to alleviate their stress from day to day life. On the other hand, however, person's hobbies and marital status are by far his personal matter which does not influence his professional life and therefore, it is insignificant that this data be provided to corporate. It is due to the fact that some workers feel uncomfortable and hesitant to reveal this information. Moreover, telecommuting is provided by many IT industries and hence, it is insignificant to demand these particulars as they barely visit the office. To conclude, although there are justifications to both the sides, my opinion is that the provision of these particulars is imperative in recognising people and their attributes in an effective way and in developing a better work culture. To illustrate, Asia's wealthiest industry, Tata interviews these questions to the application during the recruitment process, and it rejects those who have bizarre interests like chewing tobacco, smoking, drugs and infidelity because it may have terrible repercussions on their peers.