In modern times, young adults are spending less time with their families and more time with their friends. Why has this change occured? Do you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

Although the need for procreation remains one of the major reasons for marriage, companionship is not only required mutually by spouses, but also their children. Adolescents nowadays, enjoy the company of their friends more than their immediate families and this is due to a number of reasons, including the generational compatibility issues that usually exist between parents and their offspring. This essay will explain why parents must not resort to the application of force in order to get their children to spend time at home. There are different things that appeal to different generations and these have changed over time. Millennials have their attractions and interests just as other age groups. Consequently, younger adults prefer using their times with people of like minds to spending it with their families. For example, a 25 years old may enjoy watching music videos but cannot do so when his father sees it as frivolous. In addition, social media has redirected the minds of young people. They are easily aware of fashion shows, trending events, concerts than any other generation was and this keeps them constantly on the move partying and having fun. As a palliative measure to this seemingly disturbing problem, parents should not welcome the idea of using violent methods to keep their children at home. Using force will only do more harm than good. They need to conduct a thorough assessment of their relationship style with their children. Although it is expected that the older people know better, parents need to examine how they communicate and relate to the choices their offspring make. Furthermore, parents need to learn to be tolerant and sometimes allow their child learn from the errors of their poor decisions. For instance, making an adolescent do what he does not like to do by force would create a vacuum in the relationship between the parent and the child. In conclusion, any family would most possibly give more than half of its resources just to see that all members love and want to be with each other. Therefore, parents should ensure they learn the language that appeals to their children more rather than consider the option of making them spend time at home against their will.