increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. to what extent do you agree or disagree? what other measures do you think might be effective?

It is incontrovertible that heavy traffic and air contamination are inextricably intertwined with the petrol consumption by vehicles. To tackle these challenges, preventative measures should be applied in addition to the rising the cost of petrol. Conspicuously, driving private cars is one of the main causes of bumper to bumper traffic which leads to pollution. In this favour, there is no doubt that increasing the cost of fuel can contribute to the mitigation of the air pollution, but taking such measure would trigger inflation and transportation fee. It is also interesting to note that should the government impose green taxes on drivers, such decree will oblige them to use public transport systems like bus and underground. Consequently, by doing this, not only do preventing squandering the time of commuters (is prevented), but mitigating the amount of carbon dioxide and other pollutants that we dump into the atmosphere is mitigated. Moreover, by encouraging people to use renewable energy and cleaner fuel, we have more safety and healthy environment. In developed communities, an enormous body of evidence shows that using hybrid cars and hydrogen fuel play a pivotal and dominant role in the reduction contamination specifically in congested cities like London. To sum up, it can be restated that in addition to boosting the price of fuels, other measures such as imposing green taxes on drivers and encouraging people to use renewable energy and cleaner fuels are recommended. I aver that local councils should allocate more budget to create and develop decent public transport which has tremendous positive impacts on citizens and the environment.