In some countries it is now illegal to reject someone applying for a job because of his or her age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Being young used to be one of the selection criteria for getting certain jobs, however, it has been changed recently that people are protected by the law in some nations not to be judged based on their age when seeking employment. I totally agree that this is a positive movement that facilitates fairness and encourages people to engage in work across the lifespan. Our aging society requires more workers; therefore, removing the age restriction on hiring processes creates increased job opportunities for people even when they reach pension age. Most of the elders serve as a strong workforce because they are still fit to work even after reaching retirement age these days. For example, 60% of people in Japan choose to continue to work after reaching the retirement age, filling the gap of job vacancies which cannot be filled by new workers. This is beneficial for companies as they can hire experienced workers, rather than spending money and time on training new staff. The fair employment opportunity is beneficial in eradicating the stigma associated with the elderly. The elderly are often seen as a burden of society as they no longer contribute to economic production. If they show a contribution to the world by continuing to work while they are physically capable, the individuals' attitude would change. They can use their sophisticated knowledge and skills to train younger generations, and this is what society needs. For instance, a recent survey conducted in a Japanese company identified that 98% of employees agreed to the benefit of hiring old but experienced workers in terms of work efficiency and productivity. In conclusion, the implementation of the law to protect people from getting discriminated against their age not only beneficial for the society in supplying necessary workforces but also it changes people's attitude towards the elderly and create a healthy society.