Completing a university education is thought to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some would argue that having a degree from a university is the most effective way to get a highly-paid job, while others think that obtaining work experience and developing soft skills are not less important. I believe that having a graduate degree can benefit a student in pursuing a good job, although additional experience or soft skills may be required for certain jobs. On the one hand, many jobs with a high salary ask for a minimum level of education from people who apply for them. Therefore, the applicants need to obtain the requested level in order to be considered for those vacant positions. For example, 90% jobs that are advertised on LinkedIn require bachelor degrees and the remaining 10% demand post-graduate level of education. In my opinion, having a tertiary education is mandatory if students want to get a great job. On the other hand, some well-paid occupations, especially for high-risk one, ask for soft skills and experience from the workers. Therefore, having these abilities can increase the probability for those who apply for the positions to be hired. Welders and painters are two examples of occupations that requires the employee to be highly-skilled in doing the tasks. In my opinion, this is only applicable for a few posts in job markets. In conclusion, this essay thinks that graduate from a tertiary education can help students in getting well-paid occupations even though some work requires students to gain extra knowledge and skills from doing similar jobs. However, the number of jobs that needs extra knowledge and skills is minor.