As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factor can contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

It is undeniable that job satisfaction plays a crucial role in people’s adulthood and can have a huge impact on one’s career progression. Despite the manifold of opinions, what determines whether a person is experiencing job satisfaction and how practical the idea that all workers can undergo job satisfaction is is still a question of controversy. These two issues will be discussed as follows. In the first place, to a great number of people, job satisfaction consists of countless of factors, I strongly believe that the two indispensable ones are salary and the sense of fulfilment. Firstly, people work because they want to have a stable income to pay for their daily expenses like food, clothes, children-rearing,... Without a decent and reasonable salary, people will have to struggle to live a life of low quality and standard in such materialistic world, which negatively affects their performance at work, lowering their productivity and impeding their contributions. Therefore, job satisfaction is out of question in this case. Secondly, by being able to do the job they desire in a friendly and supportive workplace, people will have a sense of fulfilment, which contributes directly towards job satisfaction. If they have to spend their precious time in a tedious environment doing such forcing and demanding tasks which they dislike everyday, they will be easily de-motivated, hence, potentially leading to job dissatisfaction. On the other hand, with regards to the second question, it is impractical and unfeasible for all workers to experience job satisfaction. It is mainly because that everyone’s definition of this concept varies largely, therefore, their demands will also be numerous which cannot be met fully by companies. Maybe it is the compensation from a company that can make a person pleased, but it might be a trivial incentive to others. Additionally, human needs and wants are unlimited, they will always feel that there is no such thing as enough. For example, a huge amount of money can only satisfy them for a certain period of time and eventually, they will ask for more. In conclusion, a feeling of fulfilment and a reasonable income are important in forming job satisfaction. Also, it is almost impossible to provide this vague concept to every worker, as their perspectives of this are various