Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. Discuss both view and give your own opinion

Whether universities are responsible for supplying their graduates with the knowledge and skills required in working life is still a question of controversy. Some people claim that universities are under no obligation in doing such job, they can choose to deliver whatever courses beneficial for their own good. I personally favour the former idea for some following reasons. For the first reason, since universities are the preferred choice of millions of students in order to have a stable income later on, they must ensure that they can be capable of equipping the fundamental basis for students. To be more specific, this must be the knowledge and skills that employers are expecting to see in candidates. For example, an IT manager will seek for applicants who have acquired for themselves the required knowledge throughout the academic years when studying in universities. In addition to the first argument, students have to pay a great deal of money for tuition fees with the aim of obtaining the knowledge and skills in particular fields. Hence, universities are responsible for delivering what students expect to receive, not what they find advantageous for their curricula. On the other hand, universities nowadays act as a trustworthy trainer of students, transforming them into highly productive and knowledgeable workers in their chosen occupations. Therefore, if universities equip students with irrelevant knowledge or simply impractical and inapplicable, they can hardly contribute anything to society. However, theoretical knowledge is insufficient. Thus, universities need to organize some postgraduate training course aiming at sharpening the graduates’ soft skills. This will surprisingly enhance their ability to work efficiently in a high-pressure environment. To conclude, I believe that the role of universities is of great importance. Therefore, their curricula as well as the methods of delivery cannot be decided for their own good. These are extremely crucial to graduates, which need to meet the requirements of employers for a bright prospect ahead.