Sending criminal to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. Do you agree or disagree?

People have different views regarding the way to treat law offenders, that whether they should be best treated with education and other vocational training. I partly agree with the view of educating those who committed a crime, as being a prisoner may destroy their life. Firstly, providing proper education to law offenders may help them to lead a better life and providing them job training would help them to find a suitable work by which they can earn money as the reason behind most of the crime is shortage of money to fulfil the basic necessities of one's life. As the rate of unemployment in our country is very high the jobless people sometimes loaded their ethics to meet their daily needs and so such people should not be sent to prison. The vocational activities if performed have a positive effect on life of criminals and a real life example of this is the jail in Ahmedabad where the offenders have opened a stall to sell fritters to the public and the money earned is given to the family of prisoners. On the other hand, if the criminals are not punished or if not sent to prison, then there are higher chances of increase in crime rates as some offenders, those who have committed severe crimes, like rapist and murderers should not be granted any mercy and should definitely send for lifetime imprisonment. In a nutshell, I agree with the idea of providing education and job training to law offenders as it help in making their life better and also society free from criminal, but at the same time those who have committed merciless crimes like rape and murder, it is best to imprison them.