While recruiting a new employee, the employer should pay more attention to their personal qualities, rather than qualifications and experience. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and include relevant examples.

The growth of any organization depends upon the people who work in it. Due to this, hiring the right candidates becomes a vital task for any company. Every applicant has a different persona, skills and qualifications, so the employer has to decide if he would like to focus on the individual qualities, or he would like to prioritize the educational qualifications and work experience. In my opinion, the recruiter should give the utmost importance to the applicant’s persona. In this essay, I will share my view for the same with relevant examples. One of the most important qualities, the employer should look into an applicant is his dedication and commitment. Even if the employee lacks skill set for the required job, if the employee is focused on completing his task, there is a very high probability that he would be able to complete it with his unrelenting efforts. For example, in many companies, there are a large number of older employees who lack the dedication and zeal for their job, which results in poor performance and unsatisfied jobs. All industries are changing rapidly, due to the advancements in the fields of science and technology. As a result the employer also needs to make sure the applicant possesses the characteristics of a quick learner. To illustrate, in the computer industry if an employee can only work on one specific programming language. He would be considered less valuable compared to a junior who can quickly learn and understand new programming languages. This is because, the junior employee would be more versatile and can take on a larger set of varied tasks. To sum up, every organization has a different set of requirements and priorities when recruiting new employees. However, personal characteristics like dedication, commitment and quick learning are way more important than educational background and work experiences. As the candidate with these qualities would be more hardworking and versatile compared to others.