Men do most of the high-level jobs. Should the government encourages a percentage of these jobs to be reserved to women?

In a patriarchal society like our current social structure, the fact that men do most of the high-level jobs has become such a common concept which inevitably forces women to take a back seat in the workplace. This reality has created an imbalance in the working system around the world that raises the question of whether the higher authority should encourage a certain percentage of these high-level jobs to be reserved for women. In my viewpoint, the government definitely should take immediate action on this issue to establish a positive work environment for women, especially for female employees who are easily ignored in male-dominated jobs. First and foremost, many women have to endure gender inequality in their workspaces which prevents them from getting a promotion to a higher position. This is because there are many pervasive stereotypes of society which deem women as unproductive workers such as being incapable of controlling their emotions or being less intelligent than their male counterpart. As a result, men are effortlessly trusted to take over a top position in companies, institutions or parliaments while women do not have the same privilege. According to EU Statistics in 2019, only 17.6% of executives and 6.9% of CEOs were women in the workforce. Secondly, women are not confident enough to compete against men for a higher position because they perceive themselves as a minority in their workplace, in contrast with the overwhelming dominance of male employees. This issue makes women subconsciously underestimate their abilities whenever they encounter a chance to reach for the top in the labour force, while they are generously qualified to handle the high-level jobs. For example, American sociologists have observed that 57% of men entering the workforce out of college are negotiating their first salary, while only 7% of women are doing the same even though they possess excellent qualities. In other words, women have to face more challenges than men to move up to positions of prominence and power and therefore discourage them to pursue these opportunities. In conclusion, it must be said that the problem of addressing the gender segregation between male and female in a workplace is deeply contentious, even create more conflicts when offering the option to reserve high-level jobs for women. Despite this matter, our society must face the truth that women are mostly ill-treated in the labour force and they should be aided by their lawmakers to have the same privilege as men at work. It is not unrealistic to expect that the rates of successful women in the workforce will rise once the government gives the necessary support to assist them.