Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology

Generally it is believed that graduates should choose the field of study, they prefer, there are others thinking that students should learn science-related subjects which turns productive in their later life. Both these views have their strengths and weaknesses, in my opinion the later view hold strong due to the impact they have on the society. On one hand, it is beneficial for students to have the freedom to decide and choose the field of discipline as their career. The movement aids, to attain their goals easier due to the high passion and motivation they possess. As each student is unique in their intellectual abilities, some have higher potential for artistic skills, whereas other students will be talented enough in scientific disciplines. Research conducted at Ohio University has found that students will excel in the branches to which they are intrinsically motivated. To give an example, career growth is positively correlated with self-esteem. Contrarily, it is popularly believed that youngsters should be advised and forced to learn scientific disciplines due to the changing global market. The trend helps to secure their lives financially, by focusing on the jobs that are in high demand globally. In the end, materialistic possession weighs more, and basic livelihood is a necessity in each man's life. An online research conducted by Job Search Engine has found that nearly 75% of the traditional jobs are dying each day and that in the future, jobs will be highly generated from technological space. To conclude, even though both the views posit favourable and unfavourable outcomes, I believe students should be encouraged to acquire skills depending on their abilities and proficiency as society needs a generation that can rationally think and not mere robots. Furthermore, the world itself is rich in diversity and that promoting a solo field of education kills gifted talents.