Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The subjects that need to be studied at universities is debatable. Some people claim students must choose the subjects of their interest, however, others feel only those subjects related to science and technology, which are of help in future must be considered at universities. This essay will discuss both the aspects and explain why it is superior to allow pupils to make a choice of subjects of their interest. On one side, if the learners choose what they want to study at university, then they stay focused to achieve what they want. In other words, when students decide their field of interest and work on it they become successful. For instance, I opted to study English at university, instead of mathematics and hence I enjoy my profession now. Moreover, every student has their own level of intelligence and accordingly, they must be at freedom to make a choice of subject that appeals. Therefore, only those students who choose to follow their passion are bound to be successful. On the other side, if all the students are forced to consider only science and technology related subjects, then there might be some who are not passionate in this field. Further, such students might fail in formal examinations. For instance, a recent study at Harvard university states that around 45% of the people do not enjoy their work because of their wrong decision at universities. Moreover, other fields like arts, literature and languages are also equally important for the future. Overall, every student may not enjoy studying science and technology related subjects. In conclusion, although science and technology related subjects might be useful in future, it may not be appealing to everyone. Therefore, students must opt the most passionate subject to them, in order to become successful in future.