Some people believe that violence on television and computer games has a damaging effect on society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence on people's behavior. What is your opinion?

The influence of TV shows and computer games om our society is one of the most debatable subjects. Many people blame the mordern belonging to the modern era; since the Middle Ages modern entertainment industry for making us more aggressive and prone to violence. However, I believe that such conclusions are rather far-fetched and not based on the facts. First of all, seeing something on TV does not necessarily lead to copying it. Numerous research shows that an inclination to criminal behaviour is a result of persons' upbringing, childhood traumas or even inherent psychological traits. None of these can be developed overnight by simply watching a bloody movie scene. Secondly, the panic around increasing violence in cinema and games does not correspond to the statistical evidence that the amount of violence all over the worlf everything that exists anywhere world is in fact steadily declining (despite the misleading impression created by the mass media). While we see more and more gory images on our screens, the similar instances in the real world become more rare. This clearly does not support the view that the shows we watch are responsible for crimes and violence. Finally, even if we accept the view that violence is somehow inherent to our nature, watching TV and playing games can in fact help us to overcome this "dark side" of ours in a peaceful way. For example, killing enemies and monsters in a virtual world can relieve our need to demonstrate a dominant and cruel attitude in the reality. Moreover, the murders observed in the movies is more likely to make a person a strong opponent of crime rather than stimulate him to become a criminal himself. Overall, although it is difficult to predict individual reactions to violence on the screens, the evidence rather shows that not only it is not responsible for agressiveness the quality of being bold and enterprising aggressiveness in the real world, but on the contrary, it can help to fight the inappropriate behaviour. If we look at the matter from this perspective, the violent games and shows have a potential to make a positive contribution to the society and must be encouraged rather than banned.