More and more women go out to work. It is the government's responsibility to subsidise them and provide free staffs and facilities to care for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

With an increasing proportion of women joining the workforce, some people believe that governments should give working mothers subsidies and provide children with free care. I completely agree with this view, but believe that people should not always expect reality to immediately conform to it. On the one hand, generally speaking, the state should give handouts to working mothers and provide free care for children. Families with both parents going out to work often cannot rely on friends or family members to take care of their young ones for them but have to use childcare services, such as day nurseries or after-school care programs, which can have rather high fees. The policy in question therefore encourages mothers to join the workforce and greatly reduces the likelihood of children being left uncared for by working parents wanting to save money, the former of which in turn boosts economic development. However, at the present moment, governments of poorer developing countries are by no means capable of giving assistance to families with working mothers. They simply do not have the money to do so, especially when large parts of their country’s population still do not have access to basic necessities, such as clean running water and electricity, and its healthcare, education and other essential social services are still inadequately funded. A majority of said governments even have huge budget deficits, are in serious debt, and are relying heavily on foreign financial aid for their continuing functioning. In conclusion, my conviction is that although all governments should subsidize working mothers and provide free childcare services, citizens of third-world countries should not expect to be given these benefits anytime soon.