Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The augmentation of university tuition fees and the scarcity of employment aspects for graduates have caused some people to suggest not teaching art courses, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that increase the chances of employment. It's undeniable that doctors, accountants, engineers...Etc., play an important role in any society, therefore the need for them arise. These fields ensure society's survival and development, which is why many believe that engaging the students in practical field studies sustains a better future for them. They think that shifting the students' focus to just these subjects would guarantee success. This has lead to the suggestion of not teaching art courses in universities. However, would that be a wise thing to do? I strongly disagree with such a suggestion, because while practical sciences constitute a part of the society, it is the arts that constitute the other half. Imagine a world where art seize to exist; so dull and lifeless. If such a thing happens the society would malfunction, as arts encourage creativity and provokes development. Take philosophy, for instance, it sharpens one's mind, make him open to different opinions and thoughts, and enhances the ability to think clearly and logically. Another reason why we need such fields rises lies in the importance of its existence. For example, if we had no historian majors who would record and teach history. For this reason, the world needs to acknowledge that these fields are not a luxury but rather a necessity. In conclusion, practical degrees are important and the demand for them is quite high. Nevertheless, that doesn't make the other degrees any less important; they equally contribute to the society's well fare.