Some people think that a person improves their intellectual skills more when doing group activities. To what extent do you agree? Use specific details and examples to explain your view.

In recent decades, many researchers have studied the importance of group-level cognition. Indeed, to my mind, there is now convincing evidence that mass activity improves the intelligence of individuals. In this essay, I shall examine how research in team-games and combine study support this view. To begin with, team-games clearly require individuals to perform a diverse a range of rapid mental calculations. This is because, in a sporting context, players must predict and anticipate possible actions within tight time constraints. For example, a recent Cambridge study showed that soccer players can – within the span of seconds – calculate over a dozen different permutations that could result from a single soccer related action. Such predictive powers clearly improve players’ mental abilities and result from activities performed in a crowd context. Secondly, studying with once's company enables individuals to obtain information that they could not acquire in isolation. This is because peer feedback allows individuals to refine their understanding of concepts and to also learn new information from other members in the association-study. For example, a study by The British Institute for Learning found that, if individuals participated in the masses, they had a far more objective and sophisticated understanding of a topic than learners who were not part of pears. Therefore, it is certainly the case that learning in a society improves an individual’s mental abilities. In conclusion, I strongly agree with the notion that mass activities improve intellectual abilities. In the future, we will certainly see schools take greater measures to ensure that more group-level cognition occurs in the classroom.