Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some companies want to know the personal details about the employees like, their hobbies, interest area and married or not. By knowing this information as per my opinion, one should identify the one ’s stability in the company and work ability, while others think that this information is not matter it depends on the situation. To begin with, one of the important reasons is that some recruiters believe that knowing about marital status gives the idea about how long one should continue the job. This type of information will be asked for most of the girls. For Example, after marriage girls, shift to the husband’s home; there may be possibility that girls what to change the job after the short period of the joining the company. Moreover, knowing the employee, hobby and interest area allows to judge the person having knowledge of the technology, even it also possible to decide their performance ability. Thus, this type of information will be helpful to decide the person ’s capacity, whether possible for them to handle a certain job responsibility. On the other hand, there are certain people in human resource department, they think that during interview asking personal information is not much important for the person selecting. Firstly, they believe selection must be based on the knowledge and experience a person having for a particular, job. As having experience, they will able to manage their responsibilities. For instance, Research conducted shows that as a person ’s hobby will change as per time spend; that is not considered as a good selection option. Furthermore, one should can contribute more working hour to the company, even if having, a married status, that depend on the individual choice not on their status. Thus, the selection criteria for the employment will be the knowledge and experience of the person. In conclusion, some employers consider the personal information as not important, they think this depends on the situation, while others say that knowing the ability and interest as a result improves the performance. The government should promote this attitude.