Some people say history is one the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days in schools, students have a range of subjects like science, technology and history. While some people consider history to be one of the major subjects, others think science and technology are far more important. There are valid views on both sides, which I will discuss now. On the one hand, history is a very useful subject. Students get the opportunity to find out about past events that have occurred in their country and in the world. For example, they can learn about World War 1 and 2 and about the attack on the cities of Hiroshima and Nagasaki. These might help the children to better understand the world they live in today and why certain things are the way they are such as the history behind the remarkable statue of liberty. Moreover, parts of history still form the present. For instance, the impressive pyramids still stand proudly in Egypt and archaeologists are continuously doing research to dig deeper into the life of Pharaohs to understand how they lived and what happened to their population. Indeed, history is very interesting. On the other hand, in this ever-growing society where technological inventions are in the limelight, teaching students about this subject would be wise. Since these children are the future of this world, it’s important that they already have basic understandings of technology. The latter is present everywhere, from the genetically modified food we eat to the aeroplanes in which we travel to visit another country. Furthermore, science in these times is of utmost importance. To illustrate this, it takes science to understand global warming and its effects, and to comprehend the spread of Coronavirus which is currently a world health threat. Therefore, science and technology are major subjects. In conclusion, I personally think that even though history is valuable, it is not as significant a subject as science and technology. Indeed, the students of today could be the scientists of tomorrow if given appropriate exposure to the related subjects, so that they can decide to pursue a career in these fields.