Some TV programmes, video of violent games and other leisure activities are harmful for children. How harmful they are? What can be done to solve these problems?

The concept of globalisation and the proliferation of new technology have opened a plethora of options for the children where they spend their leisure time. Therefore, taking the advantage of these resources, children indulge themselves in online sites where they sometime exposed to aggressive games/unreliable content and illegal information. Hence, exposure to harmful material can have serious repercussions. This essay will not only discuss the harmful effects, but also suggest some ideas to ameliorate this situation. First of all, violent games and negative content can have manifold detrimental effects on the children. To illustrate, children exposed to horror movies on TV are often scared and develop a phobia as a consequence. To add further, kids who play aggressive games of often develop mental instability. For Instance, in a recent survey of BOSCO school, it is observed that almost 90-92% children are addicted to fighting games like PUB-G, where the concept is to kill the persons in the virtual world.As, a result of such games, their behaviour becomes aggressive. To mitigate these problems, parental intervention is imperative. They should make modifications to the privacy setting of the internet, so, that their offspring are exposed to the programmes which is good for improving their educational and overall personality skills. Furthermore, they should reduce the gaming hours. Then, the onus is on the government and broadcasting agencies to make sure that the material is appropriate and should not promote offensive and violent material. To conclude, Violent games and illegal information can have a detrimental effect on the child psychology and both parents as well as government should take preventive measure like restricting the content to be viewed by the children and limiting the gaming hours can help them to grow in their lives