International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The advancements in communications, technology, and tourism have made the world become like a small village. Despite the benefits of the international tourism, it is growth had a negative impact on the local societies and their areas. In this essay, I will explain why global tourism advantages do not justify its downsides. On the one hand, the increase in the number of tourists has resulted in economic growth in the developing countries which welcome them, therefore, improving the life quality of the individuals. For example, Nepal has increased its number of tourists visiting it by the double in the last five years, which was reflected in the country's average population income, which increased by 25%. On the other hand, the huge growth of tourism has destroyed many of the traditional and original communities and their lifestyle. For instance, a recent study conducted by the University of London has shown that over 60% of people in Thailand have left their lands and agriculture and started working in the tourism industry and moved to the cities. Hence, many of the villages are now almost empty. In addition to that, many of the popular tourism destinations do not force any laws to protect the environment, which might lead to an increase in the level of pollution and wastes, hence, harming the local animals and plants and downgrading the air quality. In conclusion, while tourism has improved the life of people around the world, it also has negative effects on the environment and local people especially in the third world countries. Therefore, I believe tourism industry should be regulated to insure its advantages exceed its downsides.