Many management interviews are based around assessing not only a person’s level of experience and knowledge but also their personality. Is leadership an innate skill? What other characteristics do companies look for in a manager?

A good leader must possess multiple qualities. For this reason, most of the companies need managers with qualities such as good personality, knowledge and experience in their work. Leadership is an acquired skill and heredity can help a person acquire this skill. Firstly, leadership is one of the most important qualities for any managerial role. People who believe it is an innate skill, give reasons that a person needs to be optimistic and jovial and both these qualities are inherited. However, a person can be a good leader only if one is trusted and respected by team members. It takes effort from the manager, to gain the trust and respect. Hence, it is not just an innate quality, but an acquired one as well. For instance, most of the people feel comfortable in working with a chief who is trustworthy and optimistic. There are quite a few other qualities that companies look for in anyone with managerial role. Managers must have good communication skills because they need to communicate with the clients and the team members. It is a must to establish a good rapport on both parties to run a project smoothly. For instance, if someone has good relations with a client, then he/she will be able to convince them with the soft skills about the minor delay in the delivery of the project. They need to be as transparent as possible, so that they can set a good example for their teammates in terms of professionalism, dedication etc. They must possess good time management skills. This factor ensures the client of the timely deliveries without putting pressure on the in house teammates. To conclude, leadership is both innate and acquired in nature. Other than knowledge, personality etc., companies believe, managers must have qualities of soft skills, time management, transparency, optimism etc.