Some people believe that women should be threated as equal to men when applying for a job with police or the military. Others think women are less suitable for this kind of job. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A military job is a physically tasking one. It requires a lot of strength and alertness, but do these make the female gender less suitable for the jobs in the Police or the military? This essay will discuss both point of views, but in my own opinion, there are roles in the military, in which a woman will fit in perfectly, which does not make them unfit for a police or military job. Feminism is actually the belief of equal rights between the male and female genders. It preaches equality; that is, for everything a man is entitled to, so is a woman. However, applying for a job with the police or the military should not be an exception to feminism. For example, women are beginning to occupy top positions in the Finance industry; the Managing Director of First Bank is a woman. Also, the Chairman of Guaranty Trust Bank is a woman. This reflects the chances the chances been given to women these days. On the contrary, women are known not to possess as much strength as the men. Therefore, there are certain jobs which require a lot of strength because it is physically tasking, which women could be advised not to apply for. For instance, the Nigerian Police Force requires a lot of patrol, some police officers are stationed on the highway to control traffic flow. Such rigorous jobs are not suitable for the female gender. Hence, job roles should be sometimes be selected according to gender types. In conclusion, this essay discussed the reasons why there should be equity in job applications. It also discussed why some job roles are not suitable for the women, strength-wise. Personally, I believe every individual, regardless of his gender, should pursue his career dreams without any hindrances.